Summary by NBYC's Fleet Captain Steve Foster

On Saturday, August 14, 2004, the weekly BBYRA sailing season returned to Normandy Beach Yacht Club. A total of seven classes raced on the Green Island course in both the morning and afternoon.

Morning conditions found partly sunny weather with little or no wind. Five classes drifted in windless conditions with the second Sandpiper race being abandoned, because of a lack of wind.

Normandy Beach's Craig Hewit sailed to another First Place in this day’s Laser Radial Class and, at the end of the 2004 season, won the overall Bay series in the Laser Radial class. David Hewit, skippering the family Sandpiper for the first time, finished third in the first and only Sandpiper race. This is the first time that the Hewit boat has finished in the top three.

Winners in the morning classes include sailors from five different yacht clubs on the Bay. The 2004 winners were:

  • Full Rig Laser class - Todd Reynolds of the Island Heights Yacht Club
  • Sunfish class - Tim Brown of the Seaside Park Yacht Club
  • Sandpiper class - Mimi Dimon of the Metedeconk River Yacht Club
  • Laser Radial class - Craig Hewit of our own Normandy Beach Yacht Club
  • Sneakbox class - Will Demand of the Toms River Yacht Club

By winning the Laser Radial class, Craig Hewit became the initial winner of the newly awarded Mac Sayers Perpetual Trophy, which will be awarded annually to the winner of the Laser Radial class when the BBYRA is sailed at Normandy Beach.

Only two classes – Sandelrings and Ensigns – raced in the afternoon. By early afternoon the skies had turned gray and overcast, still with little or no wind. Shortly after the race got underway the skies opened to driving rain. Most of the afternoon’s races were sailed in rain with little or no wind as both classes drifted around the course. While two races had been scheduled for both classes the Race Committee had to shorten the course for the first race in both classes and had to abandon the second race. The winner of the Sanderling class and the recipient of the Ted LaPier Perpetual Trophy was Mark Schleckser of the Shore Acres Yacht Club. Winning the Ensign class was Bill Murphey of Seaside Park Yacht Club.

At the conclusion of the day’s races all BBYRA staff and Normandy Beach support personnel were invited back to the club where cocktails and hors d’oeuvres were served. Thanks go out to all NBYC who worked so hard to make the day a success and a special thanks to Betsy Foster who planned all of the food arrangements and hosted together with the club’s officers the cocktail party at the end of the day.

Back to Top

Member's Page  |  NBYC Information  |  NBYC Trophies  | NBYC History  |  NBYC Home Page

Normandy Beach Yacht Club
P.O. Box 726
Normandy Beach, NJ 08739
©2000-2017 Normandy Beach Yacht Club. All rights reserved.


This site was cleverly created by